Adventures in Home Cooking: Napa Valley Stuffed Pork Tenderloin

One of my favorite books lately has been The United States of Arugala by David Kamp, which details the rise of the Foodie subculture and its heroes and symbols. Baby greens and sun-dried tomatoes are two developments discussed in the book, so as soon as I saw this on bell-alimento.com, I was inspired:

http://www.bellalimento.com/2009/05/27/napa-valley-stuffed-pork-tenderloin/

I’d like to think Alice Waters herself would be happy with this meal, even if my ingredients weren’t exactly direct from the source. This was an extremely easy recipe, although there was a snag or two  with the cornstarch. As I found,  cornstarch is very temperamental, the mixture didn’t seem thick enough, but when I added the cornstarch directly, it clumped up like mad. I had to spoon out the clumps in the mushroom sauce, it looked gross. Lesson learned.

In the end, as much as I love mushrooms, I don’t think the sauce was needed. It muddied up the plate, overshadowing the bright colors of the wilted baby spinach and the sundried tomatoes in the pork. I think in the future, a rub of maybe some curry or oregano, or maybe even lavendar would be better. One other critique is that I would like more approximate measurements, as a beginner cook, a turn of olive oil or a vague amount of cornstarch is a little hard to follow.

Other than that, this is a dish that’s both easy and impressive looking. It reminds me of those rice krispie treat commercials; while your party waits in anticipation,  sit in the kitchen while the tenderloin cooks with your wine. Throw some cornstarch on your face to complete the effect.

~Julia

3 responses to “Adventures in Home Cooking: Napa Valley Stuffed Pork Tenderloin

  1. Ciao Julia! So glad you decided to give my recipe a try. What a coincidence, I’m also in the Raleigh area!

    • rdugonnaeatthat

      Paula,

      Thanks so much!! That recipe was great and incredibly easy for a first-timer like me. I was starting at the tenderloin in our fridge without a clue with what to do with it, so thank goodness I found your site!

      The more Tony and I do this blog, the more we’re finding that there’s a great online food community in Raleigh, which was a wonderful surprise. I’m glad that you’re a part of it 🙂

      ~Julia

  2. Mmm…that looked really good, minus the mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

