Adventures in Home Cooking: Oven Fried Cajun Chicken

I feel like its been awhile since we did a post even though its really been less than a week; a day of you count the links post that I did yesterday. So I am excited to present to you experiences cooking Cajun fried chicken.

Fully cooked Cajun fried chicken

Fully cooked Cajun fried chicken


Now, I grew up with my mom making a very healthy but tasty oven baked chicken that mimicked the fried effect but did not include the skins. While I would not recommend this dish if you are more health conscious like my mother, I definitely found the chicken very tasty and easy to cook.   Here is the recipe that I used:

http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1939,149170-236195,00.html

The recipe calls for 6 thighs/ 6 breasts, but because I was only serving Julia and myself, I only used two split breasts with their skins still intact.   I also cut the bones out for Julia’s chicken  and left them in for myself which in my opinion makes the chicken much more flavorful (and it did).   I also substituted cajun seasoning for creole seasoning which I think is the same thing, but feel free to let me know if I’m wrong.  To make up for a cooking a much smaller portion I cut the ingredients in half which seemed logical in my head at least.  Honestly, I was hoping for some spicy fried chicken not unlike Popeye’s Chicken which is sadly absent in central North Carolina.

Now I followed the recipe and everything and pre-seasoned and then shook the chicken in a bag with seasoning and flour before I threw it in the oven.  But I don’t think I quite got the ratio of seasoning down right, so some parts of the chicken did not have the kick that I associate with Cajun food while others seemed to have a perfect flavor.   However, I do think that the chicken turned out really tasty, and cooking in a pan in the oven with the butter was  relatively simple way to do it.

I am thinking next time I will try to find a healthier way to do by using half the butter or maybe using dark meat which will not need as much butter because of its higher fat content.  I am still working on my meat prep skills and under seasoning is still one of my major downfalls.  I will definitely try this one again and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for an easy way to cook some tasty spicy fried chicken.

4 responses to “Adventures in Home Cooking: Oven Fried Cajun Chicken

  1. i’m a dark meat person! gotta make this simple but delicious dish with thighs!

    • rdugonnaeatthat

      I gotta agree with you on that one. I am also a huge dark meat person, but the split breasts were on sale so I went with them. My wife Julia is a white meat person all the way so she was happy, but to me dark meat just has so much more flavor. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hi there, thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and nice to meet you too. You’re a good cook and you served your wife well. How wonderful! Cheers & have a nice day!

    • rdugonnaeatthat

      Thanks a lot. I think we are both in the learning phase when it comes to cooking. We both have gourmet tastes, but not gourmet cooking skills – but we’re getting there slowly but surely.

Leave a Reply

