Domo Arigato, Haru Sushi

Sake to meTony and I had a one-day vacation last week. Work’s been crazy for both of us, hence the radio silence this week, so we needed to get away (we’ll post about our trip to Winston-Salem/Greensboro later this week). Just to show sometimes you can get away and stay home too, we came back and went out for Sushi at Haru Sushi (2603 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27608-1044). Haru is a little hidden away on Glenwood, blink and you might miss it on the way to Oberlin or downtown. But make sure you head over, because it was one of the best-priced and tastiest meals I’ve had in a while.

I should preface this by saying that I’m always a little nervous going to Sushi places, because of reading lots about the etiquette of Sushi-eating. There’s protocol and, according to the writers, god help you if you dip your rice into soy sauce or put your chopsticks directly on the counter. This has always psyched me out a little, to the point where most of my sushi-eating experiences are at home, away from the prying eyes and judgment of more experienced sushi-goers. So imagine my panic when Tony wanted to sit right at the bar, in front of the chef and his assistant.

I started with a bowl of “clear” broth and a bottle of the warm house sake with Tony, which definitely helped ease my nerves a little. Our waiter was extremely nice and quick and seemed to have empty-bottle-of-sake-ESP. What was nice about our seats at the bar was watching the chef and his apprentice at work. Yes, it does take some time to get your food, but watching these guys at work made me appreciate the skill it takes to make sushi. Everything coming from their side of the counter looked delicious.

And it was! Tony and I went for the night’s special, the “Amazing Roll.” It’s a roll with avocado, scallions, eel, roe, those little crunchies, spicy sauce, and topped with a piece of toro (fatty tuna).  It earned its name, the roll was alternately sweet, savory, and spicy. The texture of the crunchies plus the velvety toro was a delight. It was so good, all concern about manners went out the window. When I took a small bite of one piece and the rest went crashing down my face onto the plate, the chef just smiled and I laughed it off. Plus, the roll was huge, I was planning on ordering some tuna hand rolls afterwards, but my stomach was at capacity. When the waiter asked if we were ready for a second round, I couldn’t tell if he was kidding or not.

As we left, the hostess chased us out. Oh man, I knew I offended someone with my bad eating habits. My paranoia was misplaced, she wanted to give us a card that after so many $20 spent, you get a $20 gift card. It’s a challenge I don’t mind taking and it was a great way to end a daycation.

p.s. Normally we have a lot more pictures, but our rolls were gone too quickly. I guess we’ll make the sacrifice for our loyal readers and go back to take some. Oh, what we do for you guys 😉

~Julia

Leave a Reply

