Adventures in home cooking: Lamb sliders

I know that I am in that this a blasphemy here in Pork Central, USA but I have to say that my favorite meat would have to be lamb.  I could do a whole blog devoted totally to lamb and other sheep related meat products.  Naturally when I first noticed lamb sliders on the bar menu at Manchester’s grill (see http://wp.me/pAgIi-2T and  http://wp.me/pAgIi-bE )  I was pretty excited, and I have been a fan of them ever since.   So, I thought I would try my own home made lamb sliders.

Lamb slider seasoned with curry powder

Lamb slider seasoned with curry powder


As shown above, the sliders are  burgers made from ground lamb and grilled to a deep brown.  Lacking in the grill area, I decided I would have to go with the frying pan.  I first seasoned all of the meat with curry powder and onion flakes and then divided my lamb into six mini patties and threw them in the frying pan.  I have to say it was little harder to judge then say burgers made of beef, but after 7 or 8 minutes they seemed to be well cooked.

Although they did not necessarily come out with the desired blackened effect that I really only could have gotten from the grill, the lamb was definitely cooked fairly well.  Because they were mini burgers we were unable to use normal buns, so we cut up some hot dog buns to put the lamb burgers in.  The sliders themselves were very juicy and sweet with only a hint of the gaminess that is characteristic of lamb meat and there was a hint of kick from the curry powder that I added.  Julia and I both added condiments typical of hamburgers; I went with just ketchup and she added ketchup mustard and pickles.  Both of our selections complimented the lamb quite well.

I was very happy with the outcome but there are a couple of things I would do differently next time (I have another pound of ground lamb in the freezer).  First off, I think I would let it stay in the pan a little longer to see if I could mimic the deep brown of the meat at Manchester’s.  Also, I definitely would add more curry powder next time, because well, I think that curried lamb is great and it didn’t quite have the curry flavor I was looking for.  All in all though this turned out to be a great experiment and I would recommend it anybody looking for an interesting and (I assume) lower fat alternative to burgers.

4 responses to “Adventures in home cooking: Lamb sliders

  1. yum, i’ve never seen lamb sliders before. using half a hot dog bun was a good idea, although making mini-buns would be fun, too. looks tasty!

    • rdugonnaeatthat

      Thanks, I was really happy with the way they turned out. We will definitely have to try baking buns ourselves sometime.

  2. I love the idea of lamb sliders, such a delicious meat. I want to make my own buns sometime too.

Leave a Reply

