Adventures in Home Cooking: Horseshoe Sandwiches!


I haven’t had a chance to visit my lovely hometown of Springfield, IL in more than a year now, and I have long been craving its famous native dish: the horseshoe.  I had wanted to try making one myself ever since I saw it on Man V. Food and got more than little nostalgic for my hometown and its famous dish.   As mentioned in my earlier post, the Horseshoe sandwich is a dish that is limited almost exclusively to the relatively small city of Springfield.

I assumed that creating  a horseshoe sandwich would be a easy as simple, because well it is basically just a hamburger fries and cheese sauce.  I hadn’t really considered the fact that I would have to be cooking the sauce, fries and burger all at the same time, and it quickly became apparent that I would have to enlist Julia’s aid to create this dish.  The recipe for the sauce that I chose is included at the bottom of the page; it is based loosely on the recipe that the legendary Darcy’s Pint uses to create their horseshoes.

I think most horseshoe lovers would agree that the most important part of creating a horseshoe sandwich is creating a a flavorful creamy cheese sauce.    I am partial to the cheese sauce that used to be served at now defunct Springfield Sports bar Sammy’s where they created horseshoes using spicy jack cheese, so we picked a block of spicy jack to shred instead of the traditional sharp cheddar.  In addition to the cheese sauce, we also wanted to make our own fries, but unfortunately we are not in possession of a deep fryer so we had to go with oven baked home made fries.  It was quite easy to chop up the potatoes into fry sized pieces which I cooked for about 40 minutes while I was preparing everything else.  We had to time it so that we started the fries first, then started the started the cheese sauce about 20 minutes in followed by the burgers themselves.   We didn’t quite time it right, so the fries ended up sitting for a few minutes while we finished off the burgers and cheese sauce.  The last thing we did was toast up some standard white bread and then added the burger, fries and cheese sauce on top.

I was really happy with how the actual food turned out save for the consistency of the cheese sauce which for some reason seemed a bit on the chalky side.  I tend to think it is either the jack cheese we chose or the fact that we used 3 times as much mustard powder as was called for by our recipe that accounts for the consistency of the sauce.  Despite its consistency, the sauce was spicy and creamy just as I had hope it would be and it tasted great once the food really started to soak it up.  The oven baked fries actually were really good even if they didn’t quite live up to their deep fried brothers.  I think next time I would also add Worcestershire sauce which I actually believe is used in most horseshoe cheese sauce recipes and I think would add a bit more depth to the taste of the sauce.  I think once my arteries recover I will give this another spin, but I definitely recommend you all give this recipe a spin if you are interested in experiencing awesomeness that is the horseshoe sandwich

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon vegetable oil

2 Tablespoon butter

3 Tablespoon flour

2 cups of milk

1/4 tsp mustard

1/2 teaspoon salt

First, create a roux sauce with 1 tablespoon of oil and 2 tablespoons of margarine to 3 tablespoons of flour.  As soon as this had this warmed up add milk, mustard, and salt and whisk until all of the clumps have disappeared.  After it has thickened for 5-10 minutes whisk in 1 and half cups of cheese and pore over horseshoe once it has completely melted.

2 responses to “Adventures in Home Cooking: Horseshoe Sandwiches!

  1. mollyschoemann

    I might have to try that! I saw that Man V. Food episode and the Horseshoe sandwich WAS intriguing! What an exciting sandwich to tackle.

    • rdugonnaeatthat

      It was a challenge; the sauce was so rich and there was so much food in total I could barely eat half of it. It’s so good though, I think we’ll be making ponyshoes (like a mini-horseshoe) in the future.

      ~Julia

Leave a Reply

